dubstep a javából

FrozenDub

FrozenDub

Interview with Tribal Dubs

2020. június 12. - FrozenDub

  

We had a nice little Q&A session with Gary Rowlands, better known as Tribal Dubs. The Cardiff-based producer and DJ’s “Sweetsick” track, alongside Dub Reaper’s “Lemon Head,” could be heard on Frozen Plate’s recent FZP07 release. This was his first-ever vinyl offering, and we hope it’s not the last! ��

To mark this occasion, we not only peppered him with some questions, but asked him to record a guest-mix as well. To make it worldwide, this time we teamed up with the Frontline crew 前線 from Taipei, and they were kind enough to host the guest-mix on their Frontline Radio show.

dINO, the head honcho of Frontline, did a Chinese translation, so if you prefer reading it in that language, please click here

 

tribal_com.jpg

 

Hey Gary! How’s it going!?

 

Hi, considering what’s going on in the world at the moment it’s all good. I have been keeping busy with producing, doing my podcast and now I have a show on Subtle FM.

 

Would you please briefly introduce yourself?

Hi, my name is Gary AKA Tribal Dubs. I come from Cardiff, Wales and I make and play dubstep. I am also part of a reggae/dub crew called ‘The Reggiments’

 

 

Where does your producer name ‘Tribal Dubs’ comes from?

When I played in punk bands I would mess around with a drum machine at home and make demos of jungle mixed with punk, and called myself ‘Tribal Hooligan’. When I got into DJing and producing I wanted to cut my own dubplates so became ‘Tribal Dubs’.

 

FZP07 was your first vinyl release and it’s went sold out less than fifteen minutes. How do you feel about this?

When you told me you were releasing ‘Sweetsick’ on vinyl I remember I had just finished work and was waiting for the bus in the pouring rain. I got your message and had the biggest smile all the way home. I’m sure people on the bus thought I had something wrong with me. The fact it sold out in 15 minutes is amazing and big ups to Dubreaper on the flip. I think the two tunes work well.

 

 

 

Do you think is important to keep the physical format alive?

Very important. I prefer DJing with vinyl and love the whole dubplate culture. Plus you can’t beat the warm sound that you get off vinyl.

 

Where did you release before FZP?

I’ve had releases on Blackfox Records, Sacred Doctrine, 57 Omen, Subsound Records, UUeird, LDH Records, Dreadordead, as well as releasing on my own label ‘oneinchpunch’.

 

 

When did you start doing music production?

I played around with making beats when I was in punk bands but started making dubstep and taking it seriously in about 2009.

 

Your music has an old school flavour where is it come from? Where do you get inspiration from?

I just make what comes natural to me, if that’s old Skool then cool. I have always liked the darker, heavier side of music, whether it be Punk, Metal or Dubstep. I also only use FL Studio demo version which means I cannot save projects. Once I start a tune I try and finish it. Punk rock style. 

 

 

When did you start djing?

A few of my mates had decks growing up which we used to mess around with after raves but I started taking DJing seriously in about 2011 

 

78704128_2018262711652860_7566804847299657728_n.jpg

 

What has been your most significant experience as a dj?

I have played lots of festivals and clubs over the years but one of my best nights was in the Moon Club in Cardiff. It is a shitty, sweaty little place, but when packed is amazing.

 

 

You have your own podcast series: Propaganda Podcast. What we need to know about it?

I started Propaganda Podcast two years ago and wanted to play underground dubstep that you wouldn’t here on other shows and get guest mixes off my mates. Its now on show #25 and I’ve had guest mixes from DJ’s all over the world as well as people sending me tunes (which is a bonus). It has been a brilliant way for me to connect with other DJ’s and producers.

 

 

You are from UK, Cardiff. How is the scene over there?

If you like Drum & Bass, Cardiff is your City. A few years ago the dubstep scene was bubbling nicely (mainly because of the Submerge events) and with a few different dubstep and dub nights, like Dragon Era, but Cardiff has a had a lot of clubs and pubs close over the years and were losing places to play.

 

How do you feel about the dubstep/140 music scene in your area?

The problem with Cardiff is we are so close to Bristol, which has one of the best scenes in the UK. Different nights pop up but its hard to compete with a City which is so ingrained in the dub side of music. Drum & Bass is a different story, with nights all over the Town.

 

 

When did you start listening to dubstep? What was the main thing that first got you into dubstep?

I got into dubstep around 2007 after listening to ‘Cyclops’ by Distance. Then I listened to Mary Anne Hobbs ‘Dubtep Warz’ and I was hooked and never looked back.

 

How do you feel about the dubstep scene nowadays?

To me the scene, world wide, is as good as it’s ever been. Dubstep has never gone away. When people said dubstep was dead a few years ago, to me they were not proper dubstep heads.

 

 

Do you listen to any other genres besides dubstep?

I like all music as long as it’s real, but punk, metal and dubstep are what I listen to the most.

 

Do you have any forthcoming releases? What is your plans for the future?

Yes I have a Single called ‘Figit’ coming out on Background Noise 28th May

 

 

Could you please recommend us a few dj, producer, sound system crew from the Cardiff area?

Stereoripe is a DJ, Producer and Promoter and someone I gig with quite a lot. He plays electronic music rooted in Dub, as well as cutting his own dubplates. Tu Tuff Soundsystem are the No.1 Soundboys in Cardiff. I am also part of a crew of DJ’s called ‘The Reggiments’ who play reggae and dub as well as our own cuts. Stagga is probably the biggest name in Cardiff as well as Nanobyte, El Mono, Dubzta and newcomer Bwgan.

 

If somebody would go to Cardiff could you recommend us bassheads any clubs, night bars, festivals we should visit?

Hub Festival is Three days of none stop music in one street in Cardiff. All different genres metal, punk, hip hop to reggae, dubstep, jungle. Butetown Carnival is always good for Soundsystem music. As for clubs and pubs, Cardiff is famous for the amount it has, but for music you would have to visit Womanby Street.

 

 

Please recommend five tunes and a dj mix that should be essential listening for every human being – the sort that would leave your life incomplete if you’d never heard them.

Distance – Cyclops

Loefah – Mud –

SPMC – Trust Nobody

Kryptic Minds - Hybrid (Biome Remix)

LX One - Give It Up

For best mix it would have to be this show from Youngsta back in 2016

 

Tribal Dubs
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/tribaldubs/
Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/tribaldubs
Mixcloud https://www.mixcloud.com/Tribaldubs/

 

 

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása