dubstep a javából

FrozenDub

FrozenDub

Interview with Pharma

2023. március 02. - FrozenDub
Pharma the cold blooded dubstep maestro. No question: he is among the top producers. The Viennese mastermind can produce the most brutal sound system shakers and the very musical baroque tunes as well.
I'm very happy that he was kind enough to answer some of my questions. 
With this interview we are closing the series of interviews. See you in Budapest on 17th March!  

 


57088104_1311130985702296_5430818624887586816_n.jpg

 

Hello Pharma! Would you please briefly introduce yourself?

Hi, my name is Moritz Neuherz and I’m a DJ/producer from Vienna.

 

phar_cov.jpg

 

Can you please tell us about your musical roots?

Growing up I used to watch the music TV channel “goTV” a lot. They had a segment called “hosted by” where they invited artists and bands, interviewed them, and let them choose some of their favourite songs to play. My father soon began to gift me and my brother a CD player and bought us new CD’s every now and then, with one of my first CD’s being Justin Timberlake’s FutureSex/LoveSounds. Since then, I’ve always been highly captivated or obsessed over some kind of music, genre or artist.

  

Your dubstep sound is very characteristic. How would you describe it?

I would describe most of it as dissonant and dark, there is definitely a main focus on the percussive and melodic elements in most of my tunes. I like to incorporate subtle distortions and many different textures and instruments into my tunes and often try to experiment with slightly different tempos or switching between rhythms, that’s why a lot of my tunes often come off as syncopated.

 

 

When did you start doing music production?

Back in December 2011.

 

Can you lift the lid a little on your production methods? What tools do you use for making music?

The DAW that I’ve always been using is FL Studio, there are some built-in plugins that are essential to me like the Convolver, Effector, Multiband Compressor, GMS, Morphine or Sakura. I use some external plugins too, but I think most of my productions are solely built within standard FL Studio. I have a fairly large collection of drum & FX/foley samples that I’ve gathered over the last years to help with more organic sounding tracks & sound design. 

 

 

 

When did you start djing?

I’ve started Djing on CDJ’s together with my best friend Bernt aka Sedan about 10 years ago.

 

What has been your most significant experience as DJ?

Playing alongside George from Traces at the Unearthed Sounds Warehouse back in 2019.

 

 

When did you start listening to dubstep? What was the main thing that first got you into dubstep?

My friend Sedan was the person that got me into dubstep. Back when we we’re mainly playing Drum & Bass or Bassline, he discovered a Gourmet Beats release on SoundCloud, I think it was GB003. He curated a 140bpm playlist and while we were usually always playing b2b, I remember just sitting back and really enjoying his dubstep sets. Imagine listening to Kaiju – Justice or Kahn, Neek - Percy for the first time at your best friend’s house, iconic.

  

 

Could you please recommend for us a few djs, producers, labels, and sound system crews from your region?

Sedan, Moosiqunt, Gnischrew, Scooped, DubApe

Concrete Law Records, Shenron, Sub Audio Records, Kommod Hi-Fi

 

1_2.jpg

 

If a basshead, from among your fans worldwide, would go to Vienna, which club nights, bars, festivals should they visit?

Basstrace, Blvze, Off the Grid, rhiz, venster99, fluc 

 

You are going to have a release at Frozen Plates but where did you release before FZP? I know there are lot of labels!

Sub Garden, Instigate Recordings, For The Heads Records, Stricly140, Simply Deep, Shenron, Sub Audio Records, Rarefied, Runouts, Sound In Picture, Duploc, Locus Sound, Foundation Audio, and many self-releases on Bandcamp. 

 

Do you have any forthcoming releases? What are your plans for the future?

There are some cool releases that are forthcoming later this year aswell as a new album that I’m currently working on. This and next year I want to start doing more self-releases again.

 

 

Please recommend five tunes and a dj mix that should be essential listening for every human being – the sort that would leave your life incomplete if you’d never heard them.

Jungle Massive by DJ Hype
FabricLive.65 by DJ Hazard
Halloween II by RL Grime

MOSCD269 – Sound of Dubstep 3
Jay Dee – Vintage & J Dilla – Vol. 2: Vintage

Martin Campbell – Wicked Rule
Bob James – Nautilus
The Cinematic Orchestra – Reel Life

 

 

Thank you for taking time and answering the questions! Really looking forward to meeting you in Budapest at our dubstep night!

Pharma: 
https://www.facebook.com/pharmadubs
https://soundcloud.com/pharmadubs
https://www.instagram.com/pharmadubs/
https://pharma.bandcamp.com/music
https://open.spotify.com/artist/7G1qrUadh0ugQxOusQZVYi
https://soundcloud.com/concretelawrecords

 

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása