dubstep a javából

FrozenDub

FrozenDub

Interview with Changer

2023. szeptember 20. - FrozenDub

 

Deep Tempo & Frozen Plates combine to bring the UK a never seen before lineup with some of the best underground talents in Dubstep. From Austria, Belgium, Hungary & the UK, the night promises to be a far-reaching meeting of friends and like minded people. Until the Deep Tempo x Frozen Plates party we are going to post promo mixes and interviews with the performer DJs. This time the Portsmouth based DJ and producer Changer talks about music, djing, etc...   

 

img-20230911-wa0001.jpg

Hello Changer! Would you please briefly introduce yourself? 

Hi I'm Changer i produce mainly soulful dnb & 140 and hail from the south coast of the UK in Portsmouth

 



Can you please tell us about your musical roots? 

I listened to a lot of metal when I was younger, it's kinda hard to pinpoint influences as I was brought up around a lot of music. my dad was constantly listening to all kinds of crazy stuff when i was really young so i was exposed to alot of good music at a young age.

 

 

Your main profile is liquid drum and bass but you produce really heavy dubstep. Why? 

Because I love it! yea I dunno really its a bit of an odd pairing. The 140 style of things I feel allows for a lot more experimentation and is a lot less formulaic. I've been falling out of love with drum n bass recently, I still love the soulful liquid stuff but the rest of the scene has become very tacky.

 

 

Your dubstep sound is very characteristic. How would you describe it? 

That's a tough one as I feel a lot of the dubstep I have produced is very experimental and disjointed in my opinion. it's hard to describe it but I feel in the future it's going to get allot more musical and melodic.

 

changer1.jpg

 

When did you start doing music production? 

About 10/15 years ago, I was not very good when I started 🙂

 

Can you lift the lid a little on your production methods? What tools do you use for making music? 

I have found I am a bit different to almost every producer I have encountered because I use Cubase. Traditionally it's been impossible to crack Cubase so you didn't really find many people using it as it's quite expensive but I like the way it works. It's simple and stable and lets me create ideas fast. 

 

We discussed before that you are a vinyl collector. What type of vinyl do you collect ? What are the most precious pieces of your collection? 

I collect a bit of everything but with regard to 140 I have all the Juan Forte records with the artworks, I didn't realise how rare JUAN001 would be. I also have every single System record that's been released. I'm a big System fan.

 

 

When did you start djing? 

About 10/15 years ago

 

What has been your most significant experience as a DJ? 

There aren't many to be honest I've not been one to chase DJ sets. The most fun I have DJing is with my friends. I love DJing with my friends at house parties

 

When did you start listening to dubstep? What was the main thing that first got you into dubstep? 

I went to one of VIVEK's system nights at Tufnell park, before that 140 was screechy nonsense to me, after that my mind was forever changed and I kept going back. I really miss System at the dome. 

 

changer2.jpg

 

You live in Portsmouth, UK. Can you please talk about the local dubstep scene/community? 

There is basically none anymore unfortunately you need to go to other cities to find good music

 

Could you please recommend for us a few djs, producers, labels, and sound system crews from your city / region? 

Go check out Five Alley, some of the upcoming releases on Five Alley are unreal. Hot Plates is another great label. Go check them out. My friend Khanum keeps making heaters. The best SoundSystem about at the moment is the Firmly Rooted rig in my opinion.

 

 

If a basshead, from among your fans worldwide, would go to Portsmouth, which club nights, bars, festivals should they visit? 

None of them haha go to another city! Bristol isn't too far away but a lot of that is just the same stuff over and over. I'm finding nowadays that the best events are either in mainland Europe or in the north of the UK.

 

How do you feel about the dubstep scene nowadays globally? 

Overall good i like the music coming out, i feel alot better about the 140 scene than the dnb scene

 

You had two releases at Frozen Plates but where did you release before FZP? I know there are a lot of labels! 

Lunar Records, Context Audio, Reform Music, Inform Music, Soulvent, Riddim Records, Soul Deep & many more

 

 

Do you have any forthcoming releases? What are your plans for the future? 

I have some bits lined up but I don't wanna say anything right now. I've learnt not to talk about releases until the contract is signed ha

 

Please recommend five tunes and a dj mix that should be essential listening for every human being – the sort that would leave your life incomplete if you’d never heard them.

 

VIVEK - Asteroids

Moderat - Nr. 22

Seven - Siren

Phaeleh - Losing You

Mungk - Guzheng

Mix: Calibre's Mixmag one in The Lab LDN

 

Thank you for taking time and answering the questions! Really looking forward to meeting you in London at the Deep Tempo X Frozen Plates dubstep night!

Come and join us in London on 11th November: 
https://www.facebook.com/events/1355691768711983

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása