dubstep a javából

FrozenDub

FrozenDub

Eye Ark Interview

2019. március 21. - FrozenDub

eye_ark_cov.jpg

 

 

Hey brother! How are you doing?!

Good, really happy but busy at the same time with sorting out my next plans for music making and events while also try'n to keep time for having fun as we need that to charge up our batteries.

 

Would you please briefly introduce yourself?

My name is Alexandru Constantin Alin and I started my music journey under the Eye Ark alias in 2011 and had my first physical release at Frozen Plates in 2019.
I am enthusiastic about cinema and working currently as a video editor and sound designer.

 

You are from Bucharest. Please give us a peek into the dubstep scene there.

One of the few nights worth mentioning would be the ones done by the Black Rhino Music. Very good vibes on the dancefloor, had the chance to see Goth Trad, Von D recently and each and every show I go leaves me charged with inspiration and positivity.

I also did some nights, Uzina Dub sessions, in the past with local support, because at that time around Bucharest I felt there was a lot of talent that needed to get noticed. Unfortunately I had to put the series of party's on hold for a while to focus on coming back with more quality and building a studio.

 

 

What are your thoughts on the dubstep/140 music scene in Romania overall?

I feel we need more producers around here but I am happy about the small communities that come in to enjoy our work. Hopefully more and more people will get together under this music, I am waiting for more creative hubs, more unity between bass music and other arts. Outside of Bucharest I wish to mention the following producers: Evolve, Kamal, Decypher and Irish Dub.

 

How hard is it to promote dubstep in Romania?

Hard, but when it comes from the heart it goes out well so it's worth the effort.

 

 

You went silent for a while. What happened with your Eye Ark project during that time?

Starting work so I can build my studio happened. Probably in 2020 I will be all ready, needed some time also to clear my mind.

No worries, just the quiet before the storm.

 

 

Many people say this is the new golden era of dubstep. What are your thoughts on that?

I think that's not really true, I think dubstep will always be like cinema in a way that some will do the same thing because it's catchy and socially accepted like Hollywood films and some will always try to bring something new on the plate, innovation through experiment.

 

When did you start listening to dubstep? What was the main thing that first got you into dubstep?

Probably Cluekid was the sound that got me into it.

 

 

When did you start djing?

Around 2011, alongside Agmantav, we did a party in our hometown to promote dubstep.

 

When did you start doing music production?

Before 2011. I always wanted to produce music was not sure what type till I found dubstep so I had some experiments with music making in d.a.w.'s while try'n to do hip hop and film music.

Around 2015 I started to work more on bass music and still working every day to learn more.

 

 

What has been your most significant experience as a dj?

Sharing the scene with Sukh Knight in Iasi, shout out to Evolve from Chase The Sun for making this happen ,that show was a night to remember.

Another nice experience was sharing the scene with Kromestar in Cluj and playing at Get Darker bucharest alongside Distance and Darkside.

 

Do you listen to any other genres besides dubstep?

I grew up with Romanian hip hop and rock music but I think the first contact with music was trough Nintendo videogames. I was weird when I was a kid, really really curious and stopped people on the street just to talk and find out more about life. I meet my first friend that way, like real friend, and we exchanged games, he gave me a James bond jr cartridge. That videogame had chiptune music that still comes to my head now and only recently I could remember this little piece of my journey's travel.

 

Do you have any forthcoming releases? What are your plans for the future?

Looking forward to release an E.P. in the future on vinyl via Frozen Plates and still putting in work every day to build my studio so the Uzina Dub label can become reality.

 

 

You are the founder of the Uzina group. Would you care to elaborate on this a bit for?

I’m the founder of the Uzina Dub group. It all started with a series of parties meant to spread the bass music vibes in Bucharest, and later I created the group, meant to connect the people that love this music. In the future I hope it will turn into an official label.

 

uzina.jpg

 

FZP01 was your first vinyl release. What feelings did you have after it sold out? Do you think it is important to keep the physical format alive?

I am very very happy, was not expecting a reaction so good. Vinyl culture of course is important but I think digitals should always come out after many years.

 

Could you please recommend for us a few djs, producers, and sound system crews from Romania?

People involved here in the bass music movement I support and appreciate: Agmantav ,D-Fuze, DMT, Delir, Loose, Pseudub, Evolve, Kamal, Decypher, Irish Dub, Low Freq. Unfortunately we don't have a dedicated venue for this were all crew's could get together. 

 

Please recommend five tunes and a dj mix that should be essential listening for every human being – the sort that would leave your life incomplete if you’d never heard them. 

Coki - Goblin

Mala - Forgive

Kromestar - Emperor's Call

Captain - Gameboy Bangs

Mungo's Hi Fi - Babylon

 

Kromestar b2b Dark Tantrums - GetDarkerTV 167 (Team Starfleet)

 

Eye Ark
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Eye-Ark-558611547538201/
Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/eye-ark

Uzina Dub
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/UzinaDub/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/UzinaDub/
Mixcloud https://www.mixcloud.com/eyeark/stream/



FrozenDub

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása