dubstep a javából

FrozenDub

FrozenDub

Interview with Kismat

2021. április 25. - FrozenDub

 

We had a little Q&A with Kismat, the Netherlands-based DJ and producer with a pair of freshly released killer tracks on the Frozen Plates label. For a glimpse into his thoughts about dubstep, and his forays in the scene, please read below!

 

cov_kis.png

 

 

Hey Deepak! How are you doing?!

 

I’m doing great, thanks for asking!

 

Would you please briefly introduce yourself?

 

I am Kismat, but you can call me Deepak. I’m from The Netherlands and I fell in love with dubstep back in 2009.

 

 

 

You are working now under the alias ‘Kismat’ but formerly you have been known as ‘Dubbacle’. Can your offer some insight into why your artist name underwent this change?

 

I just felt like it was time to move on - I felt some of the music I was making under the Dubbacle moniker was becoming too derivative. I took some time off since I was experiencing a bit of a creative block and after that I felt more free to create the music I liked under Kismat.

 

FZP12 was your first vinyl release and it sold out in less than two minutes. Your thoughts on this please!

 

It’s honestly crazy that people love the sound that much. It humbles me every time that I get reminded of the people that are so enthusiastic about it.

 

 

Do you think it is important to keep the physical format alive?

 

Yes - there’s nothing like the feeling of vinyl under your hands. There’s something to the “analog-ness” of it.

 

Where did you release before FZP?

 

I actually released a nice EP on Dubtribu Records as well as 2 tracks on some of their compilations. And with Dubbacle on numerous other labels, FKOF and Altered Records to name a few.

 

 

At what point in your life did you start doing music production?

 

I think it was in 2010. One of my friends (he makes music under his alias Fairburg) was into dubstep as well as music production. I learned a few things from him and then it all went quickly. I joined a Facebook group with likeminded producers (Dubstep Rotterdam) where I met VGB, Frenk Dublin and Le Lion to name a few, and there was a very fertile ground for starting producers to learn from each other there. Then it all just grew further.

 

Can you lift the lid a little on your production methods? What tools do you use for making music?

 

I use FL Studio 20 now. I used to make basses with Massive as my only custom synth. I have a sample pack of 11 GB that a friend gave me back in the day, and that’s usually what I work with. Nowadays I use the 3xOsc to make basses, it’s amazing what you can do with some out of the box synths on FL Studio. For example - the Sytrus flute can be used to create the flute melody from Skream’s Rotten.

 

 

Your music has a very unique old school flavour. Where and what do you get inspiration from? When Deep Tempo showcased your tunes Cutah compared ‘Unity’ to the Skream dubs from 2006-2007.

 

And I think that’s a big compliment. I love the sound from that era and I always get inspired listening to those tunes.

 

Are you doing any djing at present, during the pandemic times that we live in? When did you start djing?

 

I started DJing 2 or 3 years after I learned how to make music. Sadly, no more DJing for me during this pandemic. I did some shows in 2019 where I was invited on a radio show but the scene had pretty much dried up at that point.

 

 

What has been your most significant experience as a dj?

 

Playing Sonic Boom in the Melkweg in Amsterdam back to back with VGB on the same flyer as VIVEK, Quest and Goth-Trad. That was a memorable night, I won’t ever forget that one.

 

You are from the Netherlands. How is the scene over there?

 

There’s a few originators like Brutuzz (responsible for among others Sonic Boom) and Beevee (Give it Dub) who keep the scene alive. There’s people like Korrupt, TMSV and The Illuminated who have a significant influence on the Dutch scene in my opinion. There’s a lot of good talent still, even though there aren’t as many parties around anymore.

 

 

How do you feel about the dubstep/140 music scene in your area?

 

I feel that there are a lot of Dutch producers that keep the scene fresh. They have an original take on the scene. Hebbe’s a good example of that - even though Mad Hatter is an older tune now, I still respect the originality he and other producers like VGB and The Illuminated are bringing with their music.

 

When did you start listening to dubstep? What was the main thing that first got you into dubstep?

 

I became friends with Samuel (Fairburg) who showed me the sounds of FabricLive 37 (the Rusko and Caspa Mix). Rusko’s Jahova sold me to the sound. I loved the bassiness of it all.

 

 

How do you feel about the dubstep scene nowadays?

 

I feel like an old man honestly. I’m not keeping up besides from some releases I follow. Come to think of it, I’ve only recently bought some new dubstep. I do feel people like Ago, Chad Dubz, Sub Basics, Fearless Dread and EVA808 are keeping it fresh while keeping it original. I don’t like everything nowadays - but that’s beside the point. You should have your preferences I think.

 

Do you listen to any other genres besides dubstep?

 

I listen to a lot of music really. I like house, I love hip-hop and rhythm and blues.

 

 

Do you have any forthcoming releases? What are your plans for the future?

 

Nothing yet in the pipeline. I should probably get back to producing some more music…!

 

Could you please recommend us any djs, producers, and sound system crews from the Netherlands?

 

This is so hard, I hope I don’t forget some of the amazing people here:

DJ’s: Brutuzz. Korrupt

Producers: VGB, The Illuminated, TMSV, Sweepa, Tosti, Raptor, Le Lion

Sound Systems: King Shiloh, Krackfree

 

 

 

If any of us bassheads were to set foot in the Netherlands, could you recommend any clubs, bars, and festivals that we should visit?

 

Never miss out on Sonic Boom (usually in Melkweg Amsterdam), Give it Dub (Doornroosje in Nijmegen) or Reload (De Helling in Utrecht)

 

Please recommend five tunes and a dj mix that should be essential listening for every human being – the sort that would leave your life incomplete if you’d never heard them.

 

Mala - Blue Notez

Coki - Haunted

V.I.V.E.K - Square Off

The Bug - Skeng

Karma - How You Feel

 

I would definitely go for Dubstep Warz with Mary Anne Hobbs. That mix changed me.


 

Thanks for taking the time to share with us just what makes you tick!

 

Kismat

Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/kismatdub

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/kismatdub/
 

 

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása