dubstep a javából

FrozenDub

FrozenDub

Interview with DubReaper

2020. szeptember 05. - FrozenDub

dub_reaper_cov.jpg



Hey Alex! How’s it going!?

Hello! It is going alright, It is fire season out here in California, so tensions are a bit high.

 

 

 

Would you please briefly introduce yourself?

My name is Alexander Algya, I am a Dubstep Producer/DJ out of the Yosemite area in California. Originally from Omaha, Nebraska. 

 

 Where does your producer name ‘Dub Reaper’ comes from?

I was looking to to have a name that fit my personality and my roots in music. DubReaper fit the bill.

 

FZP07 was your first vinyl release and it sold out in less than fifteen minutes. How do you feel about this?

I was thrilled. Definitely was not expecting it to sell out so fast. I did a little dance out of excitement. 

dubr.jpg 

 Do you think is important to keep the physical format alive?

Absolutely

 

 

Where did you release before FZP?

Future Follower Records

Keep deep

Deep Fried Records

Cymatics Bass

Sacred Seshes

Background Noise

 

When did you start doing music production?

I started a little over 2 years ago. I’m completely self taught, but hope to start taking classes to really step up my production quality.

 

 

Your music has an old school flavour where is it come from? Where do you get inspiration from?

First heard the sounds of DMZ back in 2009 and was hooked immediately. Coki is definitely a huge inspiration as well as artists like Cluekid, Cessman and Kromestar.

 

 

What has been your most significant experience as a dj?

I had the opportunity to open up for Chief Kaya in Portland for the Sacred Seshes crew. He’s been someone I’ve looked up to in the American Dubstep scene for some time. Big up Sacred Seshes.

 

 dubr2.jpg

 

You are from Nebraska. How is the scene over there?

Omaha has always been known for its Indie underground music. The electronic music scene use to be small, tight nit, very family oriented. It’s recently gotten pretty big but they still have those underground vibes with lots of warehouse raves. Not a lot of 140 producers over there but the couple we do have are on the up and up. Snakeblood and Ruger are a couple of my favorites.

 

Do you listen to any other genres besides dubstep?

Growing up, I was apart of the Hardcore/Metal scene in Omaha. I actually was a vocalist for a metalcore band in High school. I’ve always been into those heavy dark sounds. I also really enjoy Jazz, House, minimal Techno, and some old school Dub.

 

 

Do you have any forthcoming releases? What is your plans for the future?

I have a track being released on KeepDeep so keep your eyes peeled for that. Also putting out a remix on Future Follower records soon. I’m currently working on a bunch of new material that I can’t wait to share.

 

 

Please recommend five tunes and a dj mix that should be essential listening for every human being – the sort that would leave your life incomplete if you’d never heard them.

Cluekid- Hiss (VV-TWO)

Coki- Red Eye (BAM 009)

Mala- Blue Notez (DMZ-010)

Expire- Abyss

Trapped Under Ice- Pleased To Meet You


FrozenDub

 

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása